As is typical on social media and communication apps, WhatsApp does not proactively inform a blocked user of the change in status if someone blocked you on WhatsApp. There’s a good reason for that; such a message could trigger real-world harm or danger to the person who has blocked a WhatsApp contact. However, it’s possible to tell whether or not someone blocked you on WhatsApp. There are several small clues that will alert you to your blocked status. Here are some indicators that you could show that someone blocked you on WhatsApp:
You do not see updates to your contact’s profile photo
If your contact normally updates their photo on a regular basis, then suddenly you notice that their profile picture has stayed the same over a period of time, then they could be chances that he/she blocked you on WhatsApp. If you are blocked, you will no longer be able to see new photos in your copy of the app.
You can no longer see updates to a contact’s info as to when they were last seen online
The “Last Seen Online” feature tells you the last time your contacts used WhatsApp, or when they were last online. Being blocked by the user is not the only reason for not being able to see when a contact was last online, though. There are a couple of other reasons. They could have changed their privacy settings to hide this particular information, or you might have set your privacy settings to not share your ‘Last Seen’ details. If you set this information to be private in your end, you will not be able to see the same details in your other contacts as well.
You only see one checkmark after sending a message
Normally, when you send a message on WhatsApp, you will see two checkmarks when a contact has received and seen your message. However, if someone blocked you on WhatsApp, you will only see one checkmark to show that the message was sent, and not two to show it was read.
You cannot make a call
If someone blocked you on WhatsApp, any calls you attempt to make will not go through.
Although, I strongly suggest that you do not use WhatsApp (or any other social media app) to harass, intimidate, threaten, or bother other people. If someone blocked you on WhatsApp, it’s worth taking a step back and considering the reasons that may have led them to block you. If you think the other person has blocked you on WhatsApp and it’s for unknown reasons, it’s still worth remembering that the person who blocked you obviously doesn’t want you to contact them. Since a block isn’t permanent on WhatsApp, there may come a time where that person will unblock you on the service legitimately and you’ll be able to contact them again. Maybe they just need a cooling-off period, or a break to think things over. Maybe the block doesn’t have anything to do with you personally.