The Snapchat private story functions in a way that will let you choose the audience for your Snapchat stories, but what if you don’t want to be on someone’s Snapchat story list?
Can you remove yourself from someone’s Snapchat Story?
Yes, you can. If you are getting tired of viewing the same Snaps over and over again, there is a way out of your misery. You can always leave someone’s Snapchat story. Once you leave someone’s Snapchat story, not only will you not be able to view their private stories, you will also not know if they have posted a private story or not.
How to Leave someone’s Snapchat story
To leave someone’s Snapchat story, you will first need to locate the story in the Story section of the app. Launch the Snapchat app and swipe left. If you can easily locate the user whose story you want to leave, then all the better. If not, use the search bar at the top to search for the person’s name.
If you are in someone’s Snapchat story, you will see their story with a lock symbol on it.
Simply tap and hold the story until you get a popup. Select ‘Leave story’, and then reconfirm that you would like to leave the story. The story will immediately disappear.
Does Snapchat notify anyone when you leave someone’s Snapchat story?
No. Snapchat does not notify the user or the other people in the story when you leave someone’s Snapchat story. However, if they were to check the people on their private story, your name will be missing, so they might be able to tell.
Why can’t I leave someone’s Snapchat story?
The option to leave a private story requires the latest version of the app to be installed. So if you haven’t updated your app yet, first try doing that. If you still can’t leave the story, chances are the user has already taken down the story, or it has disappeared (after 24 hours).
How to know if someone left your Private Story on Snapchat?
Snapchat does not notify you when someone leaves your private story. Even if you check your Private stories list that you created, the person that left will still be on there, since you are the one that wants to share your story with them. The only way you can deduce that someone may have left your private story is by looking at the views on your story.
Launch the Snapchat app and tap your story in the top left corner. Now tap your private story to open it.
Tap ‘View’ at the bottom to get a list of all the people that have viewed that story.
If you consistently notice that the person’s name is missing from the views, chances are they have left your Private story.
How do you know if you’re on someone’s Snapchat story?
Snapchat does not notify you when someone adds you to their Private story. Neither do you get notified when a user posts to their Private story. The only way to know that you are on someone’s Snapchat story list is if you see the purple lock icon around a story. The purple lock indicates that the story is private and you are allowed to view it. Users who are not on a Private story will not be able to view the story at all.
Can you be on more than one Private story of the same person?
Yes, you can. Snapchat lets you have a maximum of three private stories. You can also have mutual users who are on more than one of your Private stories. When a Private story is posted, it only appears under the user’s name and not the name of the Private story.
You can tell which Private story you are on from the name of the story mentioned in the top left corner on the snap. Different Private stories from the same user will probably have different names.
Can you tell if you have been removed from someone’s Snapchat story?
No. Snapchat will not notify you if the creator of the Private story removes you from the list, the only way you could possibly tell if you notice that you no longer see Private stories from the person.
How to remove yourself from someone’s Snapchat story
Since Private Stories are intended to be viewed by those few people whom you are close to, you have the option to choose who’s added to your Private Stories and who stays out. If you, by mistake, added someone to your Private Story, you can remove them by navigating to your private story. You can find all your private stories by opening the Snapchat app, going to your Bitmoji > Stories.
When you find your private story, tap on the 3-dots icon at the top right corner of the story title.
This will bring up an overflow menu from the bottom of the screen. From here, select the ‘See Viewers’ option.
Inside the Story viewer’s screen that appears, you will see all the people you have added to your private story and these people will be marked with blue tick marks adjacent to their names. To remove someone, uncheck the circle next to the person you want to remove.
You can remove multiple people from your private story by unchecking as many people as you’d like.
Once you have removed unwanted people from viewing your private story, scroll down and tap on the ‘Save’ button at the bottom.
While the removed person won’t be able to see future content that you add to the private story, they’ll still have access to the content that has already been uploaded to the story.
Can you find out how many Private stories you are on?
Unfortunately, there is no way to find out how many Private stories you are currently on. There is no limit to the number of Private stories that you can be a part of on Snapchat.